Structure of the program

The master’s program is organised in 4 semesters, over 2 years. All courses within the partner universities will be taught in English. Mamaself students must take a total value of 120 ECTS credits over the 4 semesters to fulfil the requirements of the Master.

Lab chemistry, materials science, master Material science, erasmus mundus, master chemistry
  1. Year 1
  2. Year 2
  3. Mobilities

The program is organized as a pedagogic continuum:

The course begins in September (semester 1) of each year, including  lectures, tutorials, seminars and a work-based research project
Students can start Year 1 of their studies at any of the five partner universities. Semester 3 is offered  at one the 5 other partner universities, while semester 4 can be undertaken in industry, at one of the consortium universities, at LSF or at any of the partner universities (in Japan, USA, Russian Federation, Brazil, India, Switzerland). 
In each semester, students take 30 ECTS credits.
The duration of the Mamaself Masters course is two years (120 ECTS credits). The academic program is split into two years with 60 ECTS credits for each. The language of instruction and examination is English. The student will stay one year in one institution and a second second in another institution. In respect of the Erasmus Mundus mobility rules, students must change country between Year 1 and Year 2. (It is not possible to stay the two years at the same site in Munich). It is possible to go back to one of the two first institutions for the 4th semester.

Mamaself mobility program : structure of the mobilities during the 2 years of the Mamaself program in Materials science at 6 different Universities in Europe - © C Cloarec


Year 1

The first year consists of lectures and practicals at one out of the five universities yielding 60 ECTS. This part of teaching will take place at one of the 5 leading European universities belonging to the consortium :

  • University Rennes1
  • University of Montpellier
  • Techsnische Universität München
  • Ludwig Maximilians Universität München
  • University of Torino

At the end of the first year, student must change country and join a second institution.
Students will receive at least 2 European Master diploma , one for each institution.


Year 2

  • Summerschool

The second academic year will start with a summer school of two weeks, where both lectures and practicals (comprehensively corresponding to 7 ECTS) will offer an excellent introduction into the use of “Large Scale Facilities”. The core of the lectures will all be given by the scientists responsible of the Master in each of the four universities (W. Paulus, P. Rabiller,  W. Petry and W. Schmahl, C. Lamberti),  exhibiting a huge background in this area. Each year the core lectures will be supported by specific seminars given by other university colleagues  and by researchers directly coming from national or European Large Scale Facilities centers.

During these two weeks, the topic of the Master thesis will be chosen by the student out of a list of subjects proposed by the staff of the institutions.

  • Year 2

During the first semester of the second year each student has to shift to one out of the four other universities. The first semester consists in lectures and practicals (30 ects, cf programme in each university of the consortium). During the second semester of the second year the student has to undergo the Master thesis work which will also yield 30 ECTS. The thesis work will take six months and is generally in strong relation with the use of ”Large Scale Facilities” for applied or academic research problem.

The research topic can be supervised and located at large Scale Facilities, but will then be jointly supervised by an advisor of one of the consortium institutions. The research work is finalised by a written dissertation, wich must be defended in front of a comittee.

Students may undergo their master thesis at another partner institution in Japan (Kyoto University, Tokyo Institite of Technology)  Switzerland (PSI / ETH Zurich) or India (IIT Madras), Univeristy Cornell (USA), University of Connecticut (USA).

Scientists coming from all over the world

There is also a teaching contribution from scientists coming from outside Europe, Japan (University of Kyoto, Institute of Materials Research, and Tokyo Institute of Technology) and Russia (Southern Federal University) University of Connecticut, Cornell (USA) IIT Madras (India) in order to show the perspectives in Non-European countries, as well as researchers from Large Scae Facilities and  experts from Industry.



In the framework of the Erasmus Mundus program, students must have 2 mobilities different from their home country.
If you are Non -European : you can choose any of the countries of the Mamaself consortium (mobilities must be approved by the Mamaself conosrtium), you must change country between year 1 and year 2. Non-EU students who benefit from the Erasmus Mundus scholarship should not spend more than 3 months outside Europe during the 2 years of the program. 

Last updated: 10/01/2020 - 14:10